Cebu, Philippines | Going Solo

A side-trip after a 2-day business trip…my compulsive decision to extend my stay was both scary and exciting – no concrete plans, just pure adventure. I had doubts at first because my first time in Cebu was very plain. But after seeing the pictures of South Cebu, I booked everything in just one snap.
Here’s my  DIY itinerary for 2 days:
Day 1
3am – I left the hotel and rode a cab going to Cebu South Bus Terminal. First trip (airconditioned Ceres Bus – going to Bato) is at 4am, ticket going to Dalaguete Junction costs 109php.
6am – I arrived at Dalaguete Junction, I rode a habal-habal going to Osmena Peak (200php round trip). The driver waited for me and took care of my backpack. I paid 30php for the environmental fee and was assisted by a local. The trek was difficult because of the cold winds and I only ate a bar of Snickers for breakfast. After 30 minutes, I reached the peak but waited for another 30 minutes for the fog clearing.
DCIM100GOPROG0191104.
Osmena Peak
Tip: Bring a jacket – too “cool for the summer”

IMG_5478

8am: I rode an ordinary bus from Dalaguete to Oslob (35php). I was heading to Tumalog Falls, the bus driver dropped me off at the last stop and I hired a habal-habal for 250php to bring me to Tumalog Falls and Cuartel
DCIM100GOPROG0361279.
Tumalog Falls
Take a dip into the cool water of the falls. The water is stronger during June to February – blame it to the summer heat.
10:30 am – I reached Cuartel, the scorching heat never stopped me. I was also happy because there are no tourists in the area.
DCIM100GOPROG0431385.
Cuartel Ruins
DCIM100GOPROG0451416.
Oslob Museum
Note: Taking photos is not allowed inside.
DCIM100GOPROG0471418.
Church of the Immaculate Concepcion
I was refueled by a bottle of softdrinks and two packs of cloverbits.
11am – The habal-habal driver assisted me to a bus going to Bato (interchange to Moalboal). Ticket costs 34php.
12noon – I reached Bato station and rode an ordinary bus going to Moalboal public market – ticket costs 96php.
2pm- I arrived at Moalboal Backpackers Lodge (50php habal-habal ride from the market)
DCIM101GOPROGOPR1582.
Moalboal Backpackers Lodge
Dorm type rooms here costs 350php per head but the one that I booked was a private room for 2 with restroom (950php).
After recharging my phone and camera I immediately headed out to search for food.
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
All-day breakfast at Chief Mau
I was craving for rice or any Cebuano food, but all restaurants here cater to Western Cuisines – and it’s a bit pricey too.
After eating, I checked out the beach front but it looked like Station 3 in Boracay. I decided to maximize the afternoon by going to Kawasan Falls. I hired a habal-habal for 200php, but then discovered that I could have saved at least 80php if I took the bus from the market.
4pm- I reached the entrance of Kawasan Falls and was assisted by a local. I paid 25php for environmental fee and had a chat with kuya Bande (guide) while walking.
IMG_5474
Kawasan Falls
IMG_5477
Raft – P300
The massage was painful but refreshing. Kawasan falls is also the last stop for the Canyoneering activity at Badian.
6:30pm – Dead tired, I arrived at the Lodge. I really felt sleepy but my tummy says eat. I strolled around the neighborhood and dined at Pleasure Principle. I ordered their best seller – Burger Platter, which was good for 2 pax. They used pita instead of buns. The staff were very accommodating and they gave customers free sangria.
8:30pm – I felt feverish and I had an upset tummy. I just forced myself to sleep hoping that that I’ll feel better the next day.
Day 2
5:30am- I woke up and felt better, took a bath, packed my bag and prepared for my morning beach stroll.
7am- White Beach. I paid a total of 35php for the entrance fees and habal-habal pass.
DCIM101GOPROGOPR1607.
White Beach
The beach reminded me of Hannah’s beach at llocos Norte. I stayed here for more than an hour. The sand and the sound of the waves was very soothing. I also had breakfast here – yaaas for rice and real Filipino viands.
9am- Check-out from Moalboal Backpackers Lodge. I rode the first bus that was heading to South Bus Terminal (129php). I had regrets in riding the ordinary bus, window seat, no curtains. The 3-hour ride was torturing.
12noon- I arrived at the bus terminal and rode any jeep number that will go to Colon. I rode another jeep going to Escario St.
1pm- Check-in at my Airbnb accommodation. I stayed for more than an hour to rest and Google my next itinerary (as I said, I had no concrete plans.)
3pm- Late lunch at Larsian. Just one ride away from Escario, I dropped off at Fuentes, Accenture and followed the smoke going to Larsian
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
Puso, Liempo & Inasal
Plus, 2 bottles of Pepsi, it costed me 230php but it was very delicious!
4pm- I rode a jeep going to JY Mall, and asked the habal-habal driver to drive me to Temple of Leah. However, he said that there is also a flower garden uphill. After few negotiations, I got a package for both places at 350php
DCIM101GOPROG0791637.
Sirao Flower Garden
Entrance fee costs 20php. Most of the flowers are withered due to the heat.
DCIM101GOPROGOPR1664.
Temple of Leah
Entrance fee is 50php. The temple is an undying love tribute of Ellen Adarna’s grandparents. The structure and gods were patterned in the Greek Mythology
DCIM101GOPROGOPR1676.
Leah
6pm- I was dropped off at IT Park. I strolled at their weekend market. I thought I was at BGC, Taguig.
DCIM101GOPROG0991728.
7pm- Dinner at La Vie Parisienne
A romantic dinner for one. I never felt so alone. Thank God for the handsome French waiter.
8pm- Dessert at Cafe Talk.
I made sure I get to dine at another cafe in Cebu City. Luckily, there’s one near my Airbnb accommodation.
IMG_5382
DCIM101GOPROGOPR1773.
.
I ordered their best seller Java Frappuccino and icecream waffle. Each room has an outlet and they have a fast wifi too. The cafe closes at 1am.
I returned to my accommodation past 10pm and prepared for my early flight the next day.
2 days were just a blur, I did admit that I felt lonely, but I felt fulfilled and independent and I am very thankful that I was safe during my journey.
DCIM101GOPROG0981726.
DCIM101GOPROG0981726.

 

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Goon for you to do that solo trip! Nice photos too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

